Tequila Martinis

Sometimes a local Mexican or Tex-Mex restaurant has a special on Margaritas, and sometimes they don’t.  On some alternate nights, certain beers may be featured at nostalgic prices, but I’ve found that the impulse decision to go out to eat has no direct correlation to these specials, as they are never in vogue when I show up, anyway.

Last night, the only beverage special was for martinis, but I was in no mood for gin, or vodka.  So just for the sake of conversation, I asked  the server what kind of martinis they were offering, and she said:

“Any kind you want!  All martinis are half off tonight!”

Bingo!  Sometimes you have to think outside the menu.  I told her I’d have a tequila martini.  I had to say it twice.  She looked kind of surprised, and asked:

” A what?  A tequila martini?  

“Thassrite, tequila,” I responded trying not to giggle.

What kind?” she asked.

I said:  “Dry”

Well cool beans if they didn’t bring me a double shot of Patrone in a martini glass, and rimmed it with salt!

The young lady serving our table said the bartender claimed it was the first one in history, but I assured her that as long as there have been drinkers with an “any port in a storm” attitude, there is just no telling what concoctions have been invented that nobody wanted to brag about.

Was there a splash of vermouth in it? I don’t know, but I like wine, so it didn’t matter.  By the way, it helps if you’d had a snifter of cognac before you go out for such fare as this.  Just know that in such circumstances, be prepared for your wife to point out that you are talking way too loudly, and that the people on the other side of the room would appreciate you calming down a bit.  Woof!

7 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Jane Leonard on October 22, 2011 at 11:24 pm

    Sounds like a good time to me!!!

    Reply

  2. Posted by Bonnie on October 24, 2011 at 12:11 am

    Tequila martini’s shall be the new craze! As Milton use to say, ” I don’t drink unless I’m by myself or with somebody.” Woof back at ya!

    Reply

  3. Posted by Robin Leonard on October 28, 2011 at 11:27 pm

    I think I’ll go make a drink out of something or other myself. I think there’s some Jamison’s Irish. I like a scurvy Jack (Jack Daniels and orange juice), so I’m thinking a scurvy Jimmy should be okey-dokey. Here’s to ya, Cuz!

    Reply

  4. Posted by Mickey Foster on October 30, 2011 at 6:19 pm

    Do a couple of shots of Patron make your clothes fall off????

    Reply

  5. hey, great blog! love it 🙂

    Reply

  6. Posted by Marlene Humberd on June 9, 2012 at 8:27 pm

    Van, I have a feeling if I drank one or two of these ,I’d either be doing your “experimental ” dance again …or swangin’ on a pole. Either experience could make an interesting new tale for ya ! ; )

    Reply

Leave a Reply

